Plans for my 18th Summer

Plans for my 18th Summer

IMG_1001

Hi there! Hey! You there! Yes, you.

Listen up because I’ve got some stuff you want to hear.

First of all, despite the fact that today marks 268 days after I last posted (YIKES!), I’m not in the mood of leaving things unfinished (especially this blog), so be ready for some regular updates! *cheers*

So many great things have happened in my life since we’ve last communicated. For one, I’ve graduated high school! I’m also going off to college in three months (like four hours away, going off) and I want to make the most of my summer before then.

What follows is how I plan to do so.

This is my second point. For those of you who have stuck with me through thick and thin, remember when I made that summer goals post for last year?

For those of you who don’t know about it, I basically wrote out ten major goals I wanted to reach that summer. None of them were something I could accomplish in one day, but I had to work towards all of them over time. You can check it out here if you’re interested.

And if you’re wondering how many of those goals I actually accomplished, well, the number was quite paltry . . . only half :/ I wrote about the exact ones I reached here.

But alas, it is a new year and you’d probably much rather be reading about what I hope to accomplish this summer than my goals from last year, because that was the past and this is now.

So without further ado, here is how I plan to make my last summer before college memorable as well as productive.

1. Earn over 2.5K

College is expensive. ’nuff said. This number pans out to about forty dollars every weekday.

2. Apply for 2 scholarships a week

I have to be specific or I probably wouldn’t do this one. Honestly, I’ve applied for a few scholarships thus far, but since I can’t see the immediate results, I’ve kinda lost all faith in doing so. Nevertheless, if I can manage to snag a few this summer, it will help a lot with college costs.

3. Keep up with Bible reading plan

I got this really cool journaling Bible last Christmas, and in the back there’s a reading plan for the entire year. I made it through February, then kinda gave up. So I definitely need to get back on track with that.

4. Finish “The Day Hope was Murdered”

I started this novel on Wattpad in April of last year and um . . . I don’t think I’m even ten chapters in. But I will finish it this summer! Right here, right now, I’m committed to updating twice a week. Friday and Tuesday.

5. Declutter & Organize

Over the past month, I’ve slowly but surely been going through my clothes (I got rid of 5 big garbage bags full of them so far!). But I still have so much crap I’ve collected over the years that must go. In addition to material things, I have over 2000 photos on my phone and way too many apps taking up space.

6. Craft Crap

Tying into the last one, I have this huge container of yarn as well as tons of fabric, jewelry making supplies, and other craft stuff that I definitely DO NOT have room for in  a college dorm. My sister and I are going to make stuff out of it and either sell them locally or on a site like Etsy. I think this will be a great opportunity to grow closer to her as well as learn a lot more about crafting.

7. Exercise twice a week

About a month ago, I finished 90 days of torture called P90 X. I was working out for nearly an hour (sometimes more) six days a week and was following a strict diet that consisted of a LOT of protein. Since that ended, I haven’t worked out once, and am losing the muscles I obtained during the torture. Needless to say, I need to get back into the habit of working out.

8. Spend time with those I love

Rather than wasting away the summer with people I honestly don’t care about or spending all of it holed up in my room, I am going to work towards spending time with my family and friends more. It was really hard to do so during the school year, but as I will be over 4 hours away in three months, I should probably learn to appreciate what I have before I go.

9. Play a musical instrument every day

For years, I took piano lessons. Then a few years ago, I quit taking lessons. Since then, I have played, but not much. Therefore, right here, right now, I’m committing to playing a musical instrument (either piano or guitar) for at least 30 minutes a day.

10. Blog every week

I was thinking of making it every other day, but I don’t think I can commit to that, so once a week seems plausible, right? As of now, I have no idea what I’ll write about, but as I always do, I’ll figure it out.

So there you have it! My top 10 goals for this summer. Of course, I do have smaller things I’m hoping to do this summer, but instead of having them on this list, perhaps I’ll make a bucket-type list with the small things. What do you think?

Why do I write out my goals like this?

If you’re wondering why I have done this for the past two years, keep reading.

Without this list, I never really know what to do during the summer and by the time summer ends, I usually feel that I have accomplished absolutely nothing. By writing the most important things out and sharing it with you guys, as well as hanging it on my wall, I find that I’m a lot more motivated and excited during these months off of school.

I encourage you to make your own list of things you want to accomplish this summer. You only have so many summers in your life. It’s important you make them worth it. If you do commit to a list, let me know, and maybe we can keep each other accountable.

final ashlyn signature

One thought on “Plans for my 18th Summer

Leave a Reply

